Sooo....tell me why a 360 deal is bad, again?

Pumpthrust

A 360 deal only sounds like a bad deal to someone with low ambitions and 0 work ethic. I'm no expert, but from all the videos, literature, and information I have gathered, it actually sounds like a decent deal. If you are a marketable artist, have a sizeable following, and work ethic, the shit kinda works in your favor-the label helps set up income streams for which they will get a cut, and if your shit works, you not only make some bread, but you can negotiate for a larger cut. Wash, rinse, repeat.

Last edited:
It sounds so bad in context of the old system. As u know, previously most the revenue to generated outside of album sales were yours if you paid off the "loan" (I mean deal) they gave you when you signed. Merchandise use to be for the artist, as well as shows (if the label wasn't sponsoring them).

But like any financial agreement it depends on the percentages. It like a loan with 2% interest versus one with 15-20% interest. Most people can handle the 2%, but that 20%( predatory) is going to put u in a hole. It all depends on the terms.
Does anyone have an example of a 360 contract so we can dissect the terms.

Because most people only look at the 360 from the standpoint of "i'm the artist, i made the music, so I should get the majority of the money".

To be honest, when I first learned of the 360 deal, my first thought was "Why hasn't it been like this from DAY ONE of the music industry?"

If I'm a record label...and I'm taking an artist off the streets...and investing MILLIONS of dollars into developing this artist, songwriters, musicians, producers, engineers, studio time, wardrobe, makeup, hair, funding tours, marketing, advertising, PR, media appearances....

if I'm doing EVERYTHING to make sure this person is a SUPERSTAR...

Then you better damn well believe i'm entitled to a piece of every revenue stream that artist gets...

I want a piece of their record sales...because I made that possible.