PROS and Cons of being a Producer/ Rapper

S

Spektor

Whats the pros and cons of being a PRODUCER/ RAPPER?

My CON is im in Dr Dre mode....ive been working on the same album for 5 years.....

i make a compilation of beats and write my rhymes, then while im on the road......

I hear a new song..........then that makes me wanna create a whole new album over........

so I scratch my beats and start from square one.......again...........thats been happening for 5 years LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

But now ive renamed the Album from Takeover to The Gold.

------------------------------

The Pros are I can come up with my own concepts......and make my own beats around them

Pro's -
You have something you enjoy that you can do alone (and really be happy, lol)
You have a creative outlet (though most of us don't use it, we just make what everybody else makes)
You have the potential to make money in the entertainment industry
You have something you can do with like minded people that's positive (and won't get you locked up)
You have something you can teach others...

Cons -
You have something that will take away from your social life
You have a passion that's shrouded in negativity (if you do Hip Hop)
You will be criticized whether you asked for criticism or not
You will have haters whether you're amazing or wack as hell
Your barriers to entry on a professional level... are many (unless you go the independent route)
Technology is making true skills less and less meaningful

Last edited:
Its gets old making a beat, the writing to it, then having to record mix and master it so by the time that's all done the song isn't exciting anymore.

Pros:
-You rap on beats that you like.
-You have the concepts of songs in mind when you make a beat.

Cons:
-You're your only critic.
-You might put more effort into one area, than the other.
-It's double the work.
-Image? Do you have a rapper image? Or are you just a producer forcing a rapper image?

No cons in making music.