Votes: 75 61.5%
  • Trap

Votes: 40 32.8%
  • Neither

Votes: 7 5.7%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.
one distinct element are the hats. The hi hats go in depth to like 32nd notes... literally sounds like a helicopter.

yep, I mentioned the hats. I sometimes use hats like that in a hiphop beat. So is that the only defining element as you see it? Is that what makes a track 'trap'?

yep, I mentioned the hats. I sometimes use hats like that in a hiphop beat. So is that the only defining element as you see it? Is that what makes a track 'trap'?

I'm no trap expert. But ik the hats are a substantial component. But remember trap still is technically a sub genre of hip hop. While boom bap is just more of an old school groove(in production). I'd listen to young thug, and even start listening to drill. Just make a station on Pandora lol

Also like mentioned above, trap is a combo of the trap electronic sub genre and hip hop. They do this to conform and also to innovate hip hop today. So in the instrumentals they'd have a lot of electronic productions. As far as rapping, the lyrics usually consist of meaningless yelped lyrics. Definitely not conscious.

This may be subjective for me to say, but as i digress, personally i think trap is just horrible. Its typically very generic, corny, and just paradoxically conforms to each others sound to fit in.

Not trap? Hats are 16ths. Don't even drop in and out, just straight "tick tick tick tick tick".