I hear sound differently no

lowlism

I've been producing music for about 5 years now and lately I have noticed that I hear sounds differently. Like, it used to take me to listen to a song many times before noticing any details in there but now I can listen to a new song I never listen to before and I'll notice every element in that song by listening to it once or twice. Not just music though but any sound in general, like for example the sound of an engine. I couldn't hear the "lowest" sound of an engine before but now I do start to notice that engine makes multiple sounds instead of just one (if that makes sense to you)

Strange thing also happens to me tho. It's getting harder for me to listen to a conversation on TV and I need to turn up the volume so I can hear it clearly. But not music, I can listen to music at any volume just fine but when it comes to conversation on TV or YouTube videos, it's really hard for me.

Loud noises bother me more than ever before. Loud noises have always sounded annoying to me but lately it really irritates me so much that I can get really angry about it.

And sometimes I do ask people to repeat themselves when talking to me but that's mainly because I'm not paying attention to what they're saying, not because I can not hear what they're saying. My mind likes to wander beyond my control at certain times

This is the part where it gets scary, I start to notice little sound, a sound so little that nobody else around me seems to notice it. They'll only start to notice it after I tell them about it. It makes me think I'm going crazy sometimes.

Now, before you tell me I should go to the ENT or audiologist to see if I have something wrong with my ear, let me tell you I am going to. I just want to ask if anybody here is going through the same thing as I am and maybe get some opinions or explanations from you guys.

Do I really have something wrong with my ear or have I refined my listening skill to a certain degree?