Drum machine for METAL band?

RapAttack

The main influences of the project/band are: metal, rap and folk.

Starting from the idea that I don't have a drummer (and neither a bassist) and I don't want to use a computer for this (I've been making rap beats for years, using software (Reason) and midi controller(s)), I want to use a drum machine for the drums. And even for the bass.
Although, real guitars (rhythm & lead) will be used, of course :D

So this thread is about getting the drum sound as close as possible to a real/metal one; I also have to keep count of the bass part, which I'm also planning to program on the machine.

I have an Akai XR-20. It's not the best thing for acoustic/metal sounds, but I found a few drum hits that sound pretty good. And even a few bass sounds that seem to be suitable for metal (slap bass, pick bass, electric bass etc), even though I'm not an expert to classify/rate them.

Now, there are small chances to find people that have some knowledge both about the XR-20 and metal music :) But some opinions would be welcome.

Do you think that it's worth it to buy another drum machine for this? If so, which one do you recommend? Basically my budget is around $200-$300 (max), but I can eventually allocate more if the machine can do more than drums and bass (like other instruments, samples, bringing sounds from the outside digitally through a USB connection etc).

The first options would be Alesis SR-16 (older "version") and Alesis SR-18 (newer one).
I know that Alesis SR-18 is very similar to XR-20. The menu is the same but SR-18 has more acoustic and rock/metal kits. How many and how good they really are, I have no idea...

As far as I researched, Alesis SR-16 is used by a lot of metal musicians.
Which one would you recommend between SR-18 and SR-16? Speaking of drum sounds, bass sounds, pads (feel, responsiveness, sensitivity, velocity), workflow...

So, Akai XR-20 vs Alesis SR 16/18
and
Alesis SR-16 vs Alesis SR-18.

Thanks.