Can't make a decent drop, please help :/

RoboGamer

Hey all,
I'm an amateur EDM producer and I am relatively new at music producing.
But I just can't make a good drop. All of my drops are weak, they lack energy or if they don't, they sound terrible.

Could someone show me a good tutorial or write me ideas about the topic?
Thanks in advance!

Use an HP Filter during the buildup to cut out low end. then, when drop comes, let low frequencies in, so low end hits really hard. as for melody, trial and error. I have the same issue, where I find success in making good melodies and builds but struggle with drops.

Last edited by a moderator:
You need multiple elements that bounce off each other to create groove... that or a really good sounding hook. Watch youtube tutorials of the genre you are trying to make and copy what they do WHILE you are watching it.

Last edited by a moderator:
You need subby basses if you are making kind deep house stuff. If you are doing more big room or dubstep you need high freq to make it sound bigger. Overall you should add NEW SYNTHS LEADS BASSES. I mean just copy and paste same lead than add high or low cut finish. You drop is ready. This is the easiest way. Also you can just make your kick more punchy by adding low freq on kicks.

Last edited: