Leasing or Exclusive rights for reggae/dancehall riddims?

terry_oi

TerryVibes Productions
I also posted this on the Music Industry / Legal forum,but i thought maybe here it will have a better chance to get a reply.
My question is how does all this work with reggae and dancehall riddims,from a producer's point of view? Is it common practice to lease your beats(riddims)? Or is there some other kind of agreement/contract (Exclusive etc)? I'm asking since in Reggae music,many well known artists perform the same riddim,unlike on other genres where the artists want the beat exclusively..and i'm talking about full-scale commercial releases here.
I plan on opening a website with mostly riddims,so any info on this and on what kind of agreements/contracts are usually made in these cases,are really appreciated.

---------- Post added 08-18-2011 at 03:02 AM ---------- Previous post was 08-14-2011 at 03:20 AM ----------

Anyone? I'm new to this and i'd appreciate any info..

I think they lease the riddim because if the producer sold it exclusively then there wouldn't be like 10 different songs on the same beat.

Producers of dancehall music usually build a riddim generally in the same way a western producer releases an album. Its not really about succesful albums in JA, and therefore in reggae, its more about successful riddims and they will mostly get revenue from the radios and TVs. They will also often be sponsored by local businesses (parties, bars, agriculture ;) ), and therefore, they record 10 different artists for almost no money (maybe 1-2 big artists) on the new riddim to get maximum radio (etc...) revenue with each production. This also explains why dancehall is easy to DL.

Then you have new labels that re-cut and rerelease riddims and push their tunes by vinal which sound systems (like DJs) play. Im not sure what you mean by full scale releases, in USA? in Europe? In Jamaica its a really very different market for music...