basic dancehall beat

There is no way to explain how to make a dancehall beat. Dancehall is too broad and varied. you have to just listen to alot of Reggae/Dancehall music and come up with your own style.

There is no formula, you have to just feel it.. Dancehall is not like other music where they use the same drum patterns over and over..

Just try to find music from the 70's on up to see how Dancehall has progressed and you'll get the vibe and do you own thing. Check out how the riddims change from the slow and heavy one drop(80's and 70's) to the faster type beats today and the lyrics also.

find music from man like "U-Roy, michigan and Smiley, Sugar Minot, Yellowman, Barrington levy, Supercat, Early B, Lt Stichie, Shabba, Ninja Man, Buju, Beenie, Bounty Killa, Spragga, Sizzla, VybeZ kartel etc...

im a piss poor technical musician so take this with a grain of salt;

start by breaking down the basics of reggae, which *does* actually have a mathmatical logic to it (the "down" beat occurs on the 1 & 3 count, as opposed to rock and roll which accents the 2 & 4 count, something alone those lines).

i dont think many people can make dancehall beats without understanding the history and trends of reggae riddims, at least superficially.

once you get some familiarity with the major arcana of studio one cuts etc, you will start to hear certain musical 'phrases' or 'themes' pop up constantly in dancehall riddims.

also useful is recreating popular dancehall riddims in reason, for example. once you see them graphically represented, it makes it much easier to mutate and reconstruct into something that comes from a personal, meaningful place.

as opposed to reggaeton which comes from a spot approximately 2 inches south of the nuts.

just learn the 3-3-2 pattern an that puts u on the way.just check u tube for danchall beat tuturial videos.

Basic kick and snare.

Kick = K
Snare = S

K--K ---- K--K ----
---- --S- ---- --S-