What is the best way to sell beats?

mguz11

Hey guys.. Just a question about which methods are effective for selling beats. I've been making beats for about 2 years now and I've sold about 4 beats total. Nothin huge but still got me stoked that when people hit me up on my SC they actually go thru with buying a beat. What drives me crazy is the number of emails I get from people saying "oh I came across this certain beat (whatever beat they pick out of my many) and I instantly fell in love with it and have to use it on my next project, how much can I get it for? Which I reply my normal prices are $20 for a lease and $50 for exclusive rights, which I think is a hell of a deal considering the time and effort I put into making the damn thing. Only to never hear from them again. I mean what the hell is wrong with people? They hit me up saying they gotta have this beat then they disappear into space when I give them prices. I mean are my prices to high?? There's no way I will go down I price I mean hell I think they are worth way more than what I'm asking but damn, everyone wants something for free now a days. I mean hell we are being undercut as producers on the business side of things. I think id probably have better luck selling beat tapes as a whole instead. But my focus is to find a mc who I can work with, someone who's willing to invest in me as much as I invest in them. It just seems so lopsided in today's world, I mean hell go jack a lil Wayne beat those are free. Sorry if I'm ranting but it makes my blood boil when in the last 24 hours I've had 4 supposed mCs hit me up then run away. Just makes no since. Anyways peace and love fam