Managing an Artist

JMD_Music

I've been talking to a local artist for a couple weeks now. She's 18 and writes, producer, and records her own music. She really reminds me of Colbie Caillat and she's agreed to let me help her with her career. We won't be signing any contracts as of now, but I'll be working with her to get her name out there. My lack of experience is fine because she said she wanted to build a team from the ground up.

She's in the process of recording some songs for an EP so I was thinking I should email blogs to post and review her music. I'd also be contacting venues around her to try and get some shows set up. I follow a lot of A&R's on Twitter and wanted to submit her music to them.

I'm still really new to management and plan to take an artist management class at UCLA being offered in April. Both her and I are still a little confused on the day to day work of a manager.

Anyone else have some advice for me?

management is about providing direction and protection, contacts and opportunities
- seems like you understand the basics of it

just make sure that you both stay safe and don't sign anything for her or yourself without a lawyer advising you first

management is about providing direction and protection, contacts and opportunities
- seems like you understand the basics of it

just make sure that you both stay safe and don't sign anything for her or yourself without a lawyer advising you first

I was going to gather a list of different blogs I could contact once she finishes her songs. Am I ultimately in charge of her marketing and publicity even when/if she signs with a label?

I've already looked around my area for lawyers.