Mailing List Questions

I just inform people that have signed up what new music and promotions are available.

as someone who sells beats, what would you say to visitors to attract them?

Just for a background. I'm new to the mailing lists and I'm just now deciding to start one up.

Read This

what are things you say to attract people to your mailing list?

What I see most people doing is using mailing lists as "gateways" to gain access to a free product. I personally try to stay away from doing this because I've found that most people who usually sign up looking for "free" will only come back looking for more "free". Also, from my experience, the "free" people will usually just unsubscribe once they have received the free item.

Based off this knowledge, I have a "soft sell" approach that I use that's proven effective for me. I simply include an opt in / subscribe form in a prominent area on my website that's non intrusive. (eg: sidebar - not a popup) The benefit of this approach is that about 95 percent of people who I direct to my website genuinely sign up without being coerced and typically have a genuine interest in licensing my music. This translates to more of a targeted reach when I send out an email blast.

$.02

Thanks. So if I have it in the footer of my website, would that do? What are things you say in your newsletter?

Do you do other things other than specials and new beat releases to engage your audience or are just saying specials and beat releases enough?

Went to your page and before I could even tell what your site was about.......... I was greeted with a pop up.... :sigh:

You know what pop ups remind me of??

Have you ever walked into a store with pushy, commissioned salespeople that get in your face when you walk in the door?

Yeah, like that.

As soon as I walk in, I'm ready to leave.

With that said, if you want to use that thing put a timer on it. Set it for like 2 minutes so you don't scare cats off.