Copyrighting Beats

Is it necessary to copyright your beats? I'm a small time producer and I just wanted to know what happened if I sold beats without copyrighting them.

I agree with what Cyko said :P My opinion is that it depends on the way you are going to sell your beats. If you put your beat online then expect for it to be stolen. If you personally know the artist and agree "off-line" then you might be safer.

Copyright is a heavy subject but you can't probably escape it. You are by law offered some protection without copyright registration but if you think that if someone stole your beat you would go against them legally then it is imperative that you copyright your beats.

P. S. You can copyright many beats together to lower the cost of copyright registration

I don't copyright my beats.(I mean, how can average producer who just started out pay for all the copyrighting stuff and do the paperwork ?)
What I do is, if I decide to put the beat online on YouTube for example, I put my voice tag on the beat.
That way no one can steal it.

I don't copyright my beats.(I mean, how can average producer who just started out pay for all the copyrighting stuff and do the paperwork ?)
What I do is, if I decide to put the beat online on YouTube for example, I put my voice tag on the beat.

you confuse the fact that you have automatic copyright in your creative work with the lodging of claims to that copyright with the US library of congress (if you are a US citizen or other legal entity under US law)

As an Australian I do not need to take any further action than simply asserting my right to be recognised as the author/creator of the work on the first physical copy I make: this is true for many other legal jurisdictions as well

Last edited:

haha this may been true 5 to 7 years ago now rappers will rap right over your tag...yes steal your beat or get a decent audio engineer to cut out your tag re-loop the instrumental....it's done all the time