Contacted by label, don't know what to do.

Bonsewswesa

A lot to read

I'm an amateur, simple as that. My skill is inconsistent and I've only just started with eq and volume envelopes. I've been making stuff for a while but recently I was contacted on soundcloud by a representative of a music label called itchycoo records.

Here's the thing though, the message had strange pronunciation and capitalisation throughout and the account was not the main itchycoo records account. Being skeptical, I contacted them on their own website asking if this person was affiliated with their label.

No response. That was a month ago. Yesterday I decided to respond asking if there were any tracks in particular they were interested in and quickly got another response with strange pronunciation and capitalisation again. Terms like:

"If you have something you really want to release at "All Digital Download Stores Worldwide".
Beatport, iTunes, Amazon, Spotify, Trackitdown, Audiojelly, DJ Tunes, Juno Records, Napster, Traxsource and Many More.. .
NOW IS THE TIME.!!"

All of the message looks like this. Sorry about the font change, pasting that messed it up. Now the entire thing couldn't have been auto-generated as they mentioned specific track names and responded to the question with a human enough answer. Both times they were adamant about me sending them some of my tracks via file sharing and sending them to their e-mail address.

1. This seems sketchy, has anyone else had an experience with this person/itchycoo records? Can you confirm if this is real or not?
2. (if this is a real offer) Going onto a label, it seems like I'd be signing a contract and not seeing a whole lot of the profit from this. Any advice?

Last edited by a moderator:
If you have to ask whether it is a scam or not then it most likely is a scam.

Until the label verifies it is a legitimate offer directly from them, send nothing.