The business of online tutoring

dizzz

Hi, bumped into FP a few times before and read around but never registered, this is first post...

Thing is I'm considering entering a project in the field of online tutoring for music producers - think musicacademy.com, macprovideo.com, groove3, music-courses.com. There are many others but these ones have convenient price points and are high quality. I'm not aiming to become a direct competitor, rather I'm thinking of targeting complete beginners, and have more structure in the study plan (not just offer random courses), and a different pricing structure.

I'm trying to understand how this industry works - do these producers/tutors who appear on the videos work for a fixed fee or is there some revenue sharing involved? Are the produced materials (videos etc) exclusive or producer retains rights? What would be an expected price to produce an hour of such course? (of course it depends on the tutor, but I'm looking for some initial average data).

Would love to get any insights you have about this industry, thanks in advance!
Ps if you were/are involved in such projects, I'd love to have a chat, feel free to pm me

hmm what?
don't want to sound rude but seems you just hijacked my thread to promote your site and didn't even read my post. but then again i'm new here so who am i to complain, right? :)

Reported

Some passing thoughts as I contemplate this issue....

On-line tutoring can be a real headache: if you are doing it properly with assignments and everything, you need to have a cash flow to pay someone to mark/assess them.

Essentially your tools for production are a video editing workstation like vegas or final cut or premiere, something to make graphics with, something to make your background audio, record your voice-overs and any miscellaneous actions like generating scripts.