101 music contracts binder / CD

As a music attorney, I have to say that while the music contract sites and books are great and a "form" or boilerplate agreement is better (sometimes) than nothing, I would sincerely caution taking legal and business matters on yourself without an attorney. There is no such thing as a form contract, just as there is no such thing as a "standard" hit-making beat.

I have seen too many people get royally screwed because they didn't invest in legal advice custom-tailored to their unique situation. I have also seen a lot of crappy music contracts out there (even from major record labels).

So just take form contracts with a grain of salt and consider hiring a music attorney when your rights and income are at stake.

Thats a steal. Anyone who thinks its too expensive has never paid an attorney $400 an hour. And may possibly have downloaded a cracked version of fruity loops and downloaded some free drum samples and some clasic soul mp3s & calls himself a "producer" & his mom's computer is "the lab".

$100 investment in your craft is absolutely nothing.

Not to say you still don't need an attorney of course, but what a great deal for a CD Rom full of boilerplates!

That is a cheap price for all of those contracts. That is 1 dollar a contract. I am going to get this because I got some new artists plus I produce for a lot of people. I would use this until the money starts coming in. When the money starts coming in, I will let a lawyer evaluate the contracts and change what ever needs to be changed. Everything is already in black and white so this is like having something to fall back on.

IncredibleBeatMaker said:
Thats a steal. Anyone who thinks its too expensive has never paid an attorney $400 an hour. And may possibly have downloaded a cracked version of fruity loops and downloaded some free drum samples and some clasic soul mp3s & calls himself a "producer" & his mom's computer is "the lab".