What if i made a beat and someone copyrighted my beat from stealing it off of youtube

Idontgetit

I know that if you make something you are the original owner of it and it is automatically copyrighted but what if someone stole it and copyrighted it and I didn't do that? What would I be able to do. Can I still sue them or do I even own the beat then?? Need honest answers asap. Thank you

**I am not a lawyer - this is not legal advice - I am simply a guy on a forum - so do your homework and consult an IP lawyer if you feel you have a serious legal issue...**

That being said...Here's what I'd do:

For starters, I'd search the copyright database to make sure it was there.

--> Publishing a song on iTunes is not the same as registering a copyright. Regardless if you put "copyright 2017 blah blah blah" in the artwork.

If it is - since you are claiming to be the original creator of the work --> the burden will be on you to prove that you created it - prior to his copyright registration.

If you can prove that - it kills his copyright claim and his copyright registration.

Additionally, he can possibly have criminal charges brought up against him because he lied on the copyright application.

Again: The burden is on you, so you need to prove your case. That would mean compiling data to strengthen it.
(eg: if you have a YouTube upload date (and additional dated proof that predates his registration) I'd say you probably have a decent shot at getting the claim rejected if it were to end up in court)

----

Do yourself a favor tho and educate yourself on copyright so you protect yourself going forward.

IP lawyers are expensive. ($400 an hour)

Also:

Understand that when you register a copyright you do just that - register a copyright. You are simply adding a name and date to the creation.

How registering it first can help him in court is: He can recoup legal fees (from you) if you take him to court and the judge rules in his favor.