Urgent!!!: about to discuss ownership in an Exclusive contract

chrisbanks

Hello, can somebody help me out?

I'm about to discuss a contract with somebody and I need some assistance in the Exclusive rights field. I'm unsure how the ownership works when dealing Exclusive rights to a customer.

Should the customer receive "full ownership" every time I sell Exclusive rights? Could I still retain the ownership after selling Exclusive rights? or does that all just depend on what ownership stipulation is included within the contract?

I have no knowledge of contracts but from an artist view I'm on the side of the customer receiving full ownership.

It all depends on your agreement. The whole "leasing beats" thing is very unique to Hip-Hop; i.e., no one else does anything like that anywhere else in the music industry that I've ever heard of. But the long and short of it is-- whatever you agree on, and then sign your name to. If you want to retain rights, while giving exclusive use to another artist/producer/entity (which seems rather like an oxymoron to me, but), you'd have to spell it out in your contract, and avoid the term "work for hire" like the plague.

Disclaimer-- NOT an attorney, nor am I dispensing anything that should be construed as "legal advice."

GJ

So I just talked to another producer about it and he tells me selling the exclusive rights is selling the ownership along with it, period. He also pointed out that you can keep your publishing? He didn't explain anymore though. How would I go about keeping my publishing but selling the ownership? This is starting to get really confusing.