Starting Your Own Website - Advice Needed

makéman

Hey FP, I have been considering starting my own website for a few years now. I just want to be able to post music, videos, pictures, and have something simple that people can check out when they google my name. I'm not necessarily trying to sell beats, the site is more for promotion, but I may want to sell some beats in the future on the site.

Does anyone have advice on how to start up your own website? Suggestions for companies to use? Doing it yourself?

Please let me know your thoughts! I would appreciate any and all possible feedback.

Without disclosing the confidential side of the discussion, here's a recent checklist set of questions and some suggestions about hosting and domain name acquistion I had with a potential client. Not all of the following may apply to your situation and you should explore several options and opinions before settling on a web marketing approach.....

You want to have a full website under the banner of xXxXxXx.com
This domain name may or may not be available. Along with this domain name you should also acquire the .co, .net, .org, .info and .mobi extensions. You might also consider the .me, .name, .biz, .us and .tv extensions. All of the other extensions would be parked domains that would automatically redirect to the .com extension.
With the domain registrar that I use (been around a long time and are very reputable) the costs for such acquisitions (business expense) on a yearly basis are as follows:

.com.co.net.org.info.biz.us.tv.mobi.me.name
$14.99$12.99$14.99$14.99$2.99$9.99$9.99$29.99$11.95$9.95$14.95

It would be good to acquire the domain names for a period of 5 years, but that is a lot of initial outlay.