Starting A Label/Movement

TM Productionz

I know the title is kind of coming on strong but bear with me lol

I just wanted to know the legality aspect of getting together a little movement like an independent label/entertainment entity

I want to know the benefits of getting incorporated and getting logos and artwork trademarked, I'm learning about copyright but I need some guidance on starting a label and what steps I should take business wise in order to stay afloat.

Should I get an attorney? I'm gonna have a facility to serve as the home base to record the music so thats checked off, should I get in touch with BMI or ascap as far as royalties? What about signing artists? How do I make a contract for them so we both dont get F'd in the A or I dont get "Priority Recorded" With baseball bats? lol

And I also dj so how can I use that to my advantage?

Please add anything I forgot to mention as im completely new to this,thanks guys

Have no fear mate. Anyways a independent or commonly referred to as a indie label is just a limited liability company which is involved in the music business. So you basically need to form a limited liability company and give it a name such as TM Productionz.

You can reference here Music Business Article - How the Music Industry Works - Goldmidi
But first and foremost you have to hire a secretary because you can't form a limited liability company without a secretary and appoint yourself as a director.

Next you need to find a entertainment lawyer or attorney and you hire them full time employment or you go to a lawyer and have them draft a contract you will use to sign musicians, singers, rappers and djs.

Another thing yes you can start a record label in your basement but this doesn't looks professional you know what I mean. You need to acquire land and buildings or rent office space to make yourself look more professional.