Social Media Advice Starting From Scratch

Kritical MeSh

Hi guys i'm looking for advice on using social media platforms more professionally, and would like to hear your feedback and views on how to proceed.

I've been doing music for a few years now, and have thought about pursuing it professionally to make a living from it.

It goes without saying that social media plays a big part on the business side of things, so my question is, should I start my social media activities again from scratch?

Here's why:

The standard of my social media presence is not the best, and doesn't reflect someone who is serious about doing music professionally, it was mainly personal, "share a song, hope that people like it, follow back the odd follower and one day be a big star!"

Obviously this approach to social media wont cut it in today's competitive market, and as my biggest fanbase is no more than friends and family, I don't think this looks very promising as a career in music!

My accounts are inconsistent, my following and soundcloud plays are low and really just a mess, so would it be better to restart all of my social media activities, my name, presence and accounts from scratch?

Is it better to have a solid presence and strategy about how and what to post, and who to follow, instead of aimlessly following anyone with the hopes of being noticed?

I've heard that quality is better than quantity, especially with your network. Is it better to have 5 engaged people in your network whom you actually benefit from, instead of 1000 passive followers (although the big number of followers looks good when people click on your account).