Seeking Advice

DJNW1

Hi

I am a producer from the south west of England, i've been producing my own music for a while now and a couple of old friends started to bring their guitars round and we would have drunken recording sessions, in my mind i was collecting recordings for sampling in the future, i moved to a different area but after a couple months arranged to meet with the guys again for a recording session but when we met things had changed, they were super serious about it and it was no longer just some drunken session, they had written some new songs and even had a band name and it soon became clear i wasn't part of 'the band', since then we have had a few sessions and I've put a few of our recordings out on my label, we've had radio play with BBC introducing in the midlands but nothing great has happened yet but we are about to enter in to a new session and we have all upgraded our instruments and equipment since last time and they are now much more accomplished musicians and have a feeling this could be the time to really take it to the next level,
to make something clear, although the band are super serious it is mainly based on ego, if it was left to them they would spend the rest of their days jamming in the living room talking about the day they make it expecting it to come knocking on their door. they have already turned down a gig in a local venue i got them which is home to all the bands on the local circuit because they believe their better than that, and maybe they are better than that.
what I'm asking is
if i work hard to promote this band and get them gigs and a deal are they just gonna push me to one side when a better offer comes along?
am i their producer? their manager? what is my role? and do we need contracts? despite what I've said about them, we are all good friends but i don't wanna be used
any thoughts or comments would be more than welcome.
Thanks

Discuss terms, get it written down in a contract.