Receiving Payment via Paypal... they want checking account... safE?

So I am looking into selling my beats.

Rocbattle.com wants you to link a paypal account for payments... so I looked into getting a paypal account.

Paypal wants my bank info. It seems to be a reputable site but there are also a lot of complaints around the web. IE: Paypal: Don’t trust them with your checking account! | Random Thoughts - Randosity!

What is the general method that beat makers use to receive payment? Any advice?

I've been using paypal for 14 years never had an issue. Routing information is public information. Every bank list's their routing numbers. That post you linked to is written buy a very paranoid individual. With their "could" and "ifs". The same could be said about banking from your cellphone.

Not used paypal as long as cyko, but there are no issues beyond getting your account certified to begin with:
- They make two random sub $1 deposits to your account which you need to report back to them correctly
- After that it is the same as if you used a credit card only no-one but paypal gets your details
- From my perspective the only potential rip-off is what they charge for currency conversion which is not in line with other commercial operators
-- current Exchange rate in aussie vs us dollars is ca AU$1 buys US$0.89c, but paypal will only sell you US$0.87c per AU$1
--- in real terms that is a markup of AU2.6c per dollar - over a US$1000 purchase that is an additional AU$26

Last edited:
I've been using paypal for 14 years never had an issue. Routing information is public information. Every bank list's their routing numbers. That post you linked to is written buy a very paranoid individual. With their "could" and "ifs". The same could be said about banking from your cellphone.

Thanks for the info but to clarify they do ask for the 12 digit account number, in addition to the routing number. Have you provided them with that? Thanks

Last edited: