Question about licenses and copyright.

Psytrux

First off thank you for taking the time to read and hopefully answer my questions.

I've been producing for a few years now and some people have been telling me I should start selling my beats. The only thing that still puzzles me is if I copyright an instrumental and sell a basic license to an independent artist (via, soundcloud,youtube, ect.), would that make it harder for the artist to release? I'd like to sign up to ascap to get all my publishing/writing rights because its now a copyrighted instrumental but I don't want to make it more difficult for the independent artist to jump through hoops just to release a track. I think contracts for that get written up if I was working with a bigger artist with a label if I sell them the exclusive license but I'm pretty new to the game and want to make sure I'm doing everything the right way.

Thanks!
~Psytrux

Here's the honest Truth: The best advice you could probably receive is to read up on Copyrights, PRO's, Licensing and Publishing so you can understand "how they work" and how they can work for you. I know its not the magic pill remedy you probably were hoping for but is truly the only way you can prevent yourself from feeling played..

That being said, there are no simple answers to this but here's my $.02:

"if I copyright an instrumental and sell a basic license to an independent artist (via, soundcloud,youtube, ect.), would that make it harder for the artist to release?"

When you copyright your work you are just registering your work with the government. Regardless if you choose to register it or not, your work is automatically copyrighted by you [to you] by default as soon as its made [in tangible form].

Read more here