Myflashstore Wav Files

• Thread starter Bandcamp Productions
  • Start date
B

Bandcamp Productions

Ok so I'm in the process of launching my website and I decided to go with Myflashstore to sell my beats. The problem I'm encountering is that they put a 100mb file size limit on wav files. I have several beats that are over that amount (~115mb) and the only way to get them under 100 is to export them as 16 bit float.

So really my question is what is the standard quality for a wav file? The tracked out version will always be 32 bit wav files but would an artist feel cheated with a 16bit wav file? I'm still new to this and am not 100% sure what the standard is.

I'm not sure how MyFlashStore works exactly, but I know plenty of people who've used it. I imagine there's a work around though. I don't usually recommend them as you can build a "Beat store" on wordpress very easily with all the themes and plugins available. What I will add is this:

It depends.

Do you want to give your customers quality? Or do you want to build a brand around low quality? Does your product justify your price? Will the artists even know the difference?

I'd recommend - whichever route you take - you make sure it's clear to your customers what they are buying.

Cheers,
Jordan

I'm not sure how MyFlashStore works exactly, but I know plenty of people who've used it. I imagine there's a work around though. I don't usually recommend them as you can build a "Beat store" on wordpress very easily with all the themes and plugins available. What I will add is this:

It depends.

Do you want to give your customers quality? Or do you want to build a brand around low quality? Does your product justify your price? Will the artists even know the difference?

I'd recommend - whichever route you take - you make sure it's clear to your customers what they are buying.

Cheers,
Jordan