Music Business 101 - Publishing

Yes. Really.

(and please refrain from using all these ridiculously large and randomly sized fonts because it is making the thread very difficult to read. Thank you.)

Go back and read what the man that started the thread wrote homie.

" musical compositions and sound recordings. Musical compositions are merely “songs” - melody, rhythm, arrangement, lyrics (if there are any)."

1. So already we see that you skimmed through and did not read.

I am not sure what you are getting at here.

Are you saying that I didn't read something properly or that I skimmed through the OP and you are quoting the line you think I got my information from?

I didn't get my information from the OP. I know what "music publishing" is. I am an attorney who was a staff attorney at a large record label.

2. Posting anything to a website is also considered publishing. There is more than one kind (of publishing). The act of placing anything on the internet is publishing my friend.

Like I said, "IN THIS CONTEXT" it is not "publishing"

"Music publishing" is different from the dictionary definition of the word "publishing"

"placing something on the internet" may be "publishing" is by some dictionary definition... but it does NOT relate to "music publishing", my friend.

As said in the eHow article
How to Publish Music on the Web

(I am sure you know of e-how right - Here is option #4)

"Feature your MP3 files on sites like MP3, or your own website. You may also feature music on MySpace, or other social networking sites. First, rip your songs into MP3 format using a program like Cubase or SoundForge, then upload to the website of your choice. Consult iTunes and other major sites to gain the widest Web audience for your music.

That is a horrible "article" and essentially worthless.

You should choose your sources of information more wisely.