I need some copywright help!!!

metrodollar

Hey fp whats up. I am new to the whole copywright thing and I wanted to know if you guys could help lead me in the right direction. I have a production team and we have a few beats that we made that will be on a artist up coming album. I am cool with the artist and we are working with him under our production team(we are not a record label). I did not charge him for the beats but I will get paid from him on the back end from album sales. I know I need to copywright the beats and I plan on doing so as a compliation but after I copywright the beats. Does the song need to be copywritten as well?( I am sure it does) Since I will already have the beat copywritten does the composer of the instrumental have to be in the new copywright for the song with vocals as well???? I am not sure the best way to go about it any help would be greatly appreicated thanks.

This all depends on what type of deal you agree(d) to with the artist, and what you _GET IN WRITING_! (I can't stress that enough). "Back End Deals" with independent artists usually don't work-out so well, but at least get an expressly detailed agreement in writing. It can even include you getting paid a certain amount (which would have/should have been your fee) after a certain number of sales (say, 1,000), separate from any points/royalty over-ride you may have negotiated. Make sure you cover all possible bases-- define what a "release" is (including CD's, LP's, tapes, Mp3's, Wave files, any possible video formats, etc., etc.).