How much should I charge for a single composition?

Aesthete18

Basically, I compose soundtrack type music on FL Studio as a hobby mostly. Mid of last year, a friend of mine asked me to compose a score for his short film which I did for free as he said he didn't really have a budget and I figured since it was my first time anyway for a professional job and he is a friend, that I wouldn't mind doing it for free. He clearly was happy with it because he just hit me up again to write another composition for a commercial he is doing.

He only needs one song, maybe 2 - 3 minutes long. I wanted to know how much to charge for it? Keep in mind that I'm not a professional musician and it's all self taught. How much would be reasonable?

Thank you.

Get the details of the commercial first. If it's low budget/small market/homespun, get a little cash or do it for free; you will be "building resume." But if he landed an account in a major market, you might be entitled to residuals...

GJ

How much do you feel comfortable charging? What do you think is reasonable?

Honestly I have no idea. I thought I'd find out what would be reasonable and then give a 30% maybe 40% discount of that amount.

Get the details of the commercial first. If it's low budget/small market/homespun, get a little cash or do it for free; you will be "building resume." But if he landed an account in a major market, you might be entitled to residuals...

GJ

It is low budget. He is doing a commercial for a competition so it's independent I guess. The last time I worked with him I did it for free. It was suppose to be about 7 or 8 tracks but I ended having to compose maybe closer to 20. It was a lot of working for free, so that's not going to happen again. Even with this track I'm sure he won't be satisfied with the first one and I'll have to redo or modify it and I'll be fine with that if I'm getting paid for it. The only problem here is I really have no clue of what to charge for a 2:30 minute piece.