Hiring management?

ibeats10

So I'm a producer and and got my masters degree in recording arts aka audio engineering and have been doing music for about 9 years. Now slowly I'm beginning to start my own label and I have a website that is currently under construction for the label and I'm also in the process of obtaining an LLC for the label. So for now I have an artist that I have been working with a local artist that has a little buzz and he has been messing with a few major artist. He has a song with a new official hook from Future the rapper(if you want to hear the song ask) for the song and he is about to do a project with DJ Drama coming soon, so after talking to him I'm going to get him under my label under contract and start off with one artist for now. So I was wondering how do I go about hiring management for an indie label? I hate to sound like a newbie towards the business side of the industry, but I have no clue where to even start looking for label management.

Last edited:
That depends on a lot if things. How much start up money do you have? Do you have enough money to pay a staff? You're probably best off running the label yourself and then once you begin to bring in money and gain some notoriety, look for people to hire.

That depends on a lot if things. How much start up money do you have? Do you have enough money to pay a staff? You're probably best off running the label yourself and then once you begin to bring in money and gain some notoriety, look for people to hire.
Start up money I have $20,000 that was from stocks and bonds that my dad had did for me when I was a little baby that became $20,000. Also, I already have a studio so all I was going to do with that money was possibly upgrade some equipment and the rest of the money I was planing on using it for the label/artist from top of the line post production(mixing and mastering), CD's to the promo of the artist and then some promo for the label to get our name out there.

Last edited: