Guidelines for Startup?

Apostata

Hello guys,

I have been making drum and bass for about 5-6 years now, and I have gotten to a point where I feel like I could actually progress further. In terms of technical know how, I have accumulated enough to make good quality sounds.

I would like to adress this thread only towards people, who actually make money with their music, specifically in the electronic music genre.

The internet is full of information and for me it's quite overwhelming. There are way too many guidelines and tipps, so I would really appreciate some simple step by step guide, by someone who has already gone trough this process, of how to get started.

I have tracks, but besides soundcloud, I don't have anything going for myself. I have always offered free downloads and had quite a few DJs asking for permission to play my tracks. So I know the music is good enough and has already been played at some big gigs in california for instance.

But I am completely clueless, when it comes to marketing myself. How do I begin to get some return on investement? Are there any sites, where I can upload my tracks, in some form of chart list? Is it recoamndable to sign up with a site like beatport, or other platforms like it? Or should I just send stuff to labels and hope for the best?

I have been thinking about making my own website and trying to sell of there, has anyone of you done that?

Any kind of personal experience from someone would be very appreciated, so please don't just link yet another site with dozens of tipps, but please share your personal path and experiences with me, if possible.

Thank you very much!

Ill keep it super simple for you.

1) have a catelog of music organized and ready to be sold
2) use all the beat selling resources available (soundclick, myflashstore ect..)
3) get your website built ( i can do this for you if need it wont cost much)