Good Major For Audio Engineers

RyanTrapstar

for someone who has a passion for audio engineering/ music production/ video production what path would YOU recommend to them?

Well, I've met some people (recently) who taught at specific audio schools like CAE and such... they claim it's a waste. "I basically teach people how to wrap cables", one of them said. He was actually apologizing to another person in the room who had paid for the program. Yikes..

I studied communications in college, with a concentration/minor in audio production. Got to work at their radio station, tv studio, recording studios, etc. I think that's about what you're going to get from most colleges.

The most important thing to take advantage of is external internships in real production facilities. Do one every Summer. I did not, and I regret it bigtime.

for someone who has a passion for audio engineering/ music production/ video production what path would YOU recommend to them?
Audio engineering.
Why don't you ask a guidance counselor, or better yet ask yourself "what the exact fucc do I want to do with my life?" The more specific you are, the the closer you will be to your answer.

my son is doing a full time audio engineering course in which they touch actual industry standard gear including the following mic list

AKG D112, AKG C414 XLII, AKG C451 EB, Audix D6, Audix i5, Audix SCX-25 PAIR, Beyer M201, Beyer M88, Electro Voice RE20, Sennheiser MD421, Neumann TLM170, Sennheiser E901, RODE NT1, RODE NT2A PAIRS, RODE NT55 PAIRS, Sennheiser MD421, Shure BETA 57, Shure BETA 58, Sennheiser E901, Shure SM57, Shure SM58, Shure BETA 56, Shure BETA 52, Shure SM7B, Yamaha Sub Kick (NS10 woofer as a mic)

So I would say investigate what the school actually offers access to, what credentials (awards, etc) the lecturers actually have, what graduates and employers have to say about the school