Getting "Broadcast Quality" in a home studio?

Shands

Dj Shands
Hello Everyone, I Was looking for advice experienced producers. Im starting to place my instrumentals on Stock music/music library sites. Some sites have rejected my applications but im on many others. I have heard sample music on these sites and im really impressed by the quality delivered by other composers. How do they get their music to sound SO GOOD/PROFESSIONAL? How can i make steps to get that "broadcast quality" all these sites talk about? I mix my beats in FL 11 and i feel that i have some experience doing so (i've come a long way!) however how can i get the quality needed to get placements on these sites?

In all honesty, certain things just come with time and experience.

You can definitely do things that will help you out along the way like invest in the right production equipment, acoustic room treatment, take music theory and ear training courses, etc. but I also believe there is an ongoing process that composers' go though (a progressive growth process if you will ) that takes time and gradually enables you to grow your "musical ears" over time.

$.02

Last edited:
The somewhat general answer that SFTRAXX gave above is not only very accurate, it's just about the only plausible (pleasant and reasonable) response to your question, which was asked in about as vague a fashion as possible. Without posting a book-length thread on the history, theory, and practice of both musical composition and recording and production, that is. We don't have much to go on without any concrete examples of your work to listen to, or anything else to compare it to (for example, the other music that you are hearing that sounds like it is "broadcast quality" to you).

What kind of music are you working on? What libraries have you submitted to? What techniques (besides "using Fruity-Loops") are you using to produce your music? And, most importantly, can you post some samples for review?

GJ