Band website, how to do it on the cheap?

F

flybyfender

Hey guys,

I would like to know if any of you had any past experience about creating & having a band website?

I am not a programmer and I do not want to learn how to code HTML just to create that one website.

Here are the things that we want:
- Our own .com domain
- Servers included, with unlimited transfer
- Unlimited content/songs
- Music player on the website
- Fans can contact us directly on the website

It would be nice if it had Facebook & Twitter integration too.

How much should I be looking to spend for a custom website from a professional webmaster (including the requested features above)? Many people told us between 1,500$ and 3,000$ is the average pricing nowadays, is that true!!!? Do you guys have any suggestions? Is Myspace still good?

Thanks,
F.B.F

Get hosting with mysql database, install wordpress and find a theme template you like, there are over 1000 free templates that can be installed directly from the Wordpress dashboard, and plenty of web designers make nice templates they sell on the low.. Or you could simply customize the newer templates that come with the install, they are made easily customizable (change background, header etc.). You don't need to be able to code to accomplish this.

You could get a nice music player by uploading tracks to Soundcloud and using their embed on your website.

And there are plenty of free plugins for social media stuff and pretty much anything (again you can search and install from Wordpress dashboard).

Some plugins we've found useful:

• Akismet - comes with the install, get your free license and activate it to prevent spam efficiently.
  • AJAXed Wordpres - improve user experience with AJAX.
  • Feedburner Feed Smith - if you want to manage your rss feed with Google's Feedburner.
  • Google XML Sitemaps - creates a map of your site for search engines.