4 Things every Hip Hop Producer needs to know

SFTRAXX

West Coast Rap Producer
After being active for over a decade in the Music Business and online, I've noticed a common trend among a lot of up and coming Hip Hop Producers.

It seems Hip Hop Producer's (Beatmakers and aspiring "future" producers fall into this category as well) don't know about or understand a few key things that are super important to their role and ultimately their career in the music business.

Before I get started, I must admit that I myself didn't know (and wasn't trying to learn) much about this side of the business until I decided to put a burner under my a$* and get educated. (..and I'm still learning too - so bear with me...)

That being said, I'm gonna pass off a few things to you [my fellow producer] that I've learned that will hopefully help you out on your road to becoming the next Super Producer.

Please note: This is in no way legal advise and is "simplified" to keep it short and sweet.

Now that we have an understanding, pull up a chair...

1. Copyrights

In a nutshell, US Copyright law works like this: You make something and put it in tangible form (eg: burn your music to a CD, flash drive, save the DAW session, etc) ~ you own the copyrights to it. That's all there is to it.

Your copyright gives you the exclusive right to:

• Reproduce the work
  • Make derivative works
  • Sell or transfer ownership of the copyright
  • Display the work publicly
  • Perform the work

The only way you don't hold your copyrights is if you sell them (like in a "work for hire") or give them away (which legally must be in writing).