20 posts to post a link is too many.

N

NateButch

I signed up to get help for a specific problem. I needed to post a link as an example, but it told me I needed to post twenty times before I was able to post links.

I get that those things are implemented to stop trolls, but honestly who's going to troll a forum like THIS?

Maybe five posts, but twenty seems like overkill. Now I have to go post in threads I really have no interest in just to get my post count up. :/ This THREAD is here just because of the post count rule. I can't really offer any advice because I'm relatively new to the genre anyway.

Ah well.

You would be surprised - even with the measures, we still have them in abundance.

20 posts is about measuring willingness to participate and contribute - multiple one-liner posts get picked up by others and the mods and are dealt with by resetting post-counts to reflect positive contributions.

You are right it should be about quality rather than quantity.

I moderate on another forum and we limit all new posters to being moderated over their first five or so posts to eliminate spam-bots and trolling.

I recently joined another forum where I was informed that every post I made would be moderated and only after I have demonstrated consistently positive contributions will they remove this restriction.

Not every forum has the willingness nor the ability to do this though, so the 20 post count is a fair compromise between the two extremes

This is too big of a forum to moderate every user. It's not just trolls, but also and maybe especially, spambots. Also, not hard to get to 20 posts. You can point people in the direction and most questions can be asked without a link.

If you need to get your posts up go over to the Feedback Section..
You'll get 20 in no time and you will be helping people out rather than posting irrelevant things in other threads