Are buying drum kits worth it?

I found a few free sample packs that are perfect for the music I make, just collect a lot of free packs and if you really cant find anything you may consider buying some packs. But you can also trying layering some samples yourself although it will cost a lot of effort.

they're not worth it IMO when you can synthesize your own drum sounds with a good drum synth...i just started learning how to make my own kicks, snares, claps and hi hats...i must say that i prefer to synthesize my own sounds to fit into the track i'm working on and it allows me the flexibility to get every instrument sitting right in the mix...

Would you care to tell us how? or at least tell us what kind of drumsynth, then i can do my own research from there :)

Would you care to tell us how? or at least tell us what kind of drumsynth, then i can do my own research from there :)

sure i have logic pro so ultrabeat comes with it...and i use ultrabeat to make my own kicks, snares, hi hats and claps...they aren't that hard to synthesize if you understand sound synthesis!

also look into the waldorf attack as it is also a drum synth worth looking into...

what do you want to know how to synthesize?

Last edited:
Aaaah like that (I also work with Logic). I tried it before too but found myself struggling with it. I find it easier finding some samples then creating my own drums. I believe that every sound should be perfect but for some reason i dont like to edit my drums. I just have to be able to work with it quickly though i take more time for my basses, chords, synths leads and stuff.

Aaaah like that (I also work with Logic). I tried it before too but found myself struggling with it. I find it easier finding some samples then creating my own drums. I believe that every sound should be perfect but for some reason i dont like to edit my drums. I just have to be able to work with it quickly though i take more time for my basses, chords, synths leads and stuff.