Seeking software advice

My eight year old brother has started expressing an interest in making music
he has been playing around with Incredibox over the past couple days and in my personal opinion i believe he has some talent
i would like to get him a program to encourage him to further develop his interest
something easy for such a young kid to understand, able to import and edit MIDI files while still capable of creating some quality music
i do have a keyboard and synthesia which i use to learn a few songs, but he has no interest in actual instruments
personally i am an illustrator and so i have absolutely no idea where to start (if he expressed an interest in art i would give him some pencils and paper and say "go nuts")

any advice would be greatly appreciated.
~ kind regards

FL-Studio
Although it's not the most appreciated DAW, it's good when getting started with music, you can handle the basics pretty fast, but still it's a tool many professionals use.
It's an often discussed topic which workstation to use, and some people don't like FL Studio.
I started using it ~5 years ago and also tried things like logic or ableton, but I still like and use FL Studio.
The thing is - you can find the basic midi controls and options in every DAW....you're actually using third party plugins and samples you import into the workstation, so it really is just a surface.
That's how I think about it, and I can really recommend you to use it caus I had a nice experience getting started with it and using it perpetually.
But that's just MY experience, as I said, there are many DAW's out there, lot of good stuff which is also worth to use.
Maybe take a look at the demos and get a first impression about what he can handle. I also think you should help him getting into the program itself cause of the age, never heard of someone who got into those interfaces being THAT young.
Hope I could help you :)

Last edited: