DAW's for Mixing.

KeyzOnTheBeat

Ok so I've been using Fl Studio for a little over ten years but I now want to expand my mixing abilities with a different daw. Fl can be used for mixing but not the way I want it to. Plus there's a lot of issues with rendering (has different outcomes than original project while in DAW) I really like Pro tools but it doesnt work too good with my laptop.. Is there any other daw that is like pro tools but with less demanding in cpu? Any and all information is accepted. Also, I know its not what you have its how you use it but I dont like FL mixing. Im more appealed to the pro tool style. Thanks

I love Cubase and I'm still on version 5. Cubase 7's mix window replicates what it would be like to mix on a real console.
http://www.steinberg.net/typo3temp/pics/f36142e305.png

Most of us can't afford large mixing consoles or have even the space for them, but ideally if you did, your interface's multitrack outputs to the line inputs of your console makes for the best mix experience. As well as digital DAW controller to move onscreen controls. SSL has just what you've dreamed the AWS 900.
Solid State Logic | Music

Pro Tools 11 claims "The New Standard for Audio Production" and has a new audio engine and consists of dynamic plugin processing so areas of low CPU usage no longer take as much power. The meters are now 30% larger and the channel faders as well.

If you're planning on taking your work into a studio more than likely they'll be using Pro Tools.

Last edited:
I use to only use Fl Studio for mixing but ever since I started using Pro Tools, my mixes sound 20x better than they would have on FL.. Pro Tools in my opinion is the best DAW to mix in but I think Logic would be the best substitute. You ever tried that out?

Last edited: