Anyone out there still use ACID?

Dizmolical

Your probably going to laugh and that is just fine but does anyone still use ACID PRO as a main DAW?

No not Lysergic acid diethylamide, Sony Acid Pro.

I've been using it for 10 years and have recently gotten back into producing. As I see it, it's completely outdated and virtually abandoned by Sony, and it's a real pain to not have 64bit VSTI support or midi to vsti effect support and primitive effect enveloping, but I think ACID it is still to this day just an amazing program. I tried to switch to ableton a few years back but allways found myself back in ACID as it's functionality, simplicity, and beatmapping/time streaching capabilities are very good and easy to use. I have any incredible amount of freedom and precision and my workflow is obviously excellent as I know it like the inside of my palm ;)

Im worried it could be a sticking point in my development as a producer, and hinder my learning and capabilities. I've always believed it doesn't really matter how you get there so long as you get there, but am I really missing out alot by not using Ableton, Protool ect..?

There are work around for some flaws of Acid Pro like using bidule ect.. but they're undeniably tedious.

i use sony acid 10 if that help and i love it. It gives me the free range to make the mix to my liking and chop or sample something into the beat.

i recommend 10 if you don't have it, if it just like pro then continue to make music history sir/ m'am

Try changing your screen color on Ableton Live in preferences. You'll find ease of workflow, sun.
I dont think the color of his screen is what hes basing the decision off of lol.

With that being said, the stuff you mentioned about ACID is pretty easily done in ableton as well. Its just about learning it and then it wont matter (but if thats the case id personally go with pro tools, but ableton sounds better for you considering you dont know either of them)