MPC 2000 XL vs. MPC 3000 LE

B

Bipartisan

I am seeking to upgrade from my MPC 1000 due to "time stretch" limitations and a few other things and I am selecting between the MPC 2000XL and the MPC 3000 LE,...I have heard that the 3000 gives crisper, crunchier, drums, which is why I could see Dre sticking to it. Can anybody who knows them both well give me the pros and cons of one over the other? It would be very helpful,...I am new to this producing game! Peace

C

I use the MPC 3000LE myself. Mainly because I know longer feel the need to "upgrade". The 3000 like the 4000, has 4 MIDI outputs. So it gives me more connections for sound modules out the box. Plus the 8 outs are standard. I will not go into what sounds the best and you shouldn't either unless you want this thread to go on for a month with no useful info. But..I went from an MPC 2000 to 2000XL to MPC 3000 to MPC 4000 and than to a MPC 3000LE. I actually want my original MPC 3000 back. Sorry, I can't explain why..maybe I'm just sentimental.

The MPC 3000 doesn't have time stretch though. And I don't care much for the time stretch features of the 2000XL. Way to slow for larger sized samples. There is software out there that is reasonably priced that can do the same editing features 10 times as fast as the MPC 2000XL.

BiPartisan;
I am a MPC3000 owner. I love it. Had it since 1996. I agree on the most part with Jahrome. But, if I was buying now, I would probably go for the XL.

The Reasons:
Size and price. .. I'd also add the WAV format as an ease of use feature.

Either way, you get a serious tool. In fact, if I was a 1st time buyer, I'd search out a MPC2000 since they are being slept on and can be copped for as low as $500.

Peace and good luck.

Either way, you get a serious tool. In fact, if I was a 1st time buyer, I'd search out a MPC2000 since they are being slept on and can be copped for as low as $500.