I Know The MPC 4000 Is A Full Blown SYNTH & All But...

tjudge said:

I think your mind has been made up 7 pages ago. The MPC's are good, the Tritons are good, The Fantoms are Good, Reason and Fruity loop are good, Hard disk recorders are good, Motifs are good, Harddisk recorders are good, PC Sequencing programs are good. The only thing that's missing is, which one are you good at? It's obvious that everyone here has their favorites that work best for them. But you need to determine what works best for you.

well, obviously i'd never actually crafted a beat on a fantom so who knows if i'm "good" with it? I know the ASR already so that helps. I know the MPC and that helps. I'm not a "newbie" when it comes to making beats, but I am a newbie when it comes to other aspects of music production and sound outside of the actual crafting of beats.

I already KNOW what i'm getting, the thread has been prolonged for other comments and suggestions.

Last edited:
I went to sam ash today and played with the X6...

WOW

Keyboard is PHENOMENAL...I don't even see why people complain about the pads...they aren't mpc pads but they ain't HALF bad...atleast u have more natural drum programming than on keys...

Definintely the best workstation I ever played with...

My gripe against the pads, isn't about how they feel, but that you only get 16. You can't bank them up or down, to hit other octaves, like the MPC. You can only assign 16 samples to the pads, and you assign it to a midi channel, and it's difficult to switch to another channel(for live use that is).

thunderkyss said:
My gripe against the pads, isn't about how they feel, but that you only get 16. You can't bank them up or down, to hit other octaves, like the MPC. You can only assign 16 samples to the pads, and you assign it to a midi channel, and it's difficult to switch to another channel(for live use that is).
Why do u need banks?? if your only using drums, all you need is a kick,snare,hi-hat,congo,etc.

thunderkyss said: