Upgrade interface or preamp?

errba

Hey guys,

I've been using an mbox mini2 for the past 5 years, i recently purchased some bm6as monitors and now that i can finally hear the fidelity of my recordings, i realize it's time to upgrade.

If you were in my position, would you prioritize upgrading the interface or just simply focus on getting a nice preamp and better microphone? I typically only use 1 input at a time.

I'm using a mac pro, so i was looking into the apogee duet2 for clean pres and better conversion, but considering the apogee is only about 200$ more than i paid for the mbox mini i'm wondering how significant the difference will be....

Would i get better results just purchasing a nice preamp and running through the mbox?
some pres i was interested in were either the ua la-610 or an avalon 737, i just wanted an end all be all preamp that i could get a professional sound.

Was also possibly considering getting a lunchbox with different clones, i know how to soldier.

I'm doing dance and hiphop/rnb vocals.
I've got a sm57 and ksm27

does it make sense to spend more on a mic or a preamp?

Please let me know what you'd do!

Last edited:
Go with the Apogee One(skip the duet unless you're using two mics at once)
buy used you'll save a lot of cash

but don't go through Craiglist
Amazon has a 30 Day return policy

I brought My Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 used for $89.00 (well it was like new) Reg. Price $149

Go with the Rode NT1-A or the Audio-Technica AT4040 Microphone

you didn't give a budget but if go with Ag. One saving you money
and want a great Mic
Try out the Rode NTK

if you can I would purchase a Modified Microphone
Michael Joly Engineering / OktavaMod - Microphone Modifications and New Boutique Mics

blessings

Last edited:
I'd start with your acoustics first. If at all possible, build a good sounding recording environment for your mic.