Purchasing a Laptop

thesoloist1914

Paradom Beats
Hey all, Paradom again with another question. So in another thread I posted wondering about equipment to begin building my home studio. Everyone who replied gave very good suggestions in which I am going to take into consideration but I soon realized that I need a new computer. To be more specific I need a laptop. I say a laptop mainly because of the portability but of course I'm also a student in college so I need to be able to take my work with me. I was wondering if anyone could point out a good laptop with some good specs that I can purchase. Honestly I'm trying not to spend more than $1000 but if I have to go a tad over I will, but only if necessary, and I'm not planning on buying a Mac anytime soon. (Nothing against it but its too expensive for my blood.) Since I'll primarily be using this for school work and beat making (I'm not going to get into recording just yet but I do have plans to hopefully after I graduate.) I use FL Studio 10 as my current DAW and I am currently looking for another for composition which I heard Reason was pretty good. But besides software I need to know which laptop will provide me with enough power and space to get what I have to do done. Thank you in advanced.

so for software that will allow you to achieve the musicianship requirements for composition and scoring you need something other the fl or reason (PS I use reason, so know the limitations).

given that you do not need to have topnotch software for these tasks get something like canoris or musescore to handle that side of things and get reason 7 with maybe balance as an interface

as for the lt itself - something with 8gb of ram and and at least 2 1tb drives would be good - brand is irrelevant as they are all made in much the same factories with the same basic design (if they use intel or amd chipsets, the boards have to be designed to accommodate those chipsets so design tends to be uniform)