Rapper looking for DAW

Drange

Artist
Hello everyone, I am an upcoming rap artist and I am looking for a program to assist me in bringing my music to life. Assuming I have nothing but hardware, what software would I need get my music from start to finish?

I have windows vista home edition 32 bit.
Intel(R) 2 Quad CPU Q6600 2.4GHz
3 GB of RAM

I wanted to try Pro Tools 10 HD / Pro Tools 10, however, it states that my computer is not compatible. Is there any other alternatives / earlier versions of pro tools I can use? I heard that Pro tools 8 would work with my computer, but I have no idea on where to download pro tools 8.

An ideal program is one that would help me accomplish my goal of creating melodies, or matching melodies to my lyrics.
A program that excels at measuring the pitches of my voice is a huge plus as I find it easier to write lyrics than melodies. Then, I would be able to create a melody to the lyrics of my songs. For instance, here are the first two lines of a verse in a song I have written and need to put a melody behind it:
"Time to kickback, goin' off full throttle,
Say it real blunt, llegar in the bottle."

I need help with the rhythm, and the pitches.

Thank you in advance!

doesn't really matter what daw you use. any daw can accomplish what you're trying to achieve. FL Studio and Reason seem to be popular ones on this forum

As a FL Studio producer myself, I recommend that software. It's easy to use, and the packs are clearly organised. But like the above guy said, any DAW has the capacity to fulfill what you're trying to accomplish. But as a beginner, I'd say either Reason or FL Studios.

It doesn't matter what you use, this isn't the 90's. Pro Tools can go "F" itself for all I care. Software and technology in general has advanced so much that it really doesn't matter what you use. These days you purchase because of workflow and how comfortable you feel with it. They all do the same thing.