Mastering in Reason 4.0/5.0

L Maaaannnn

I haven't been here in ages, and I finally have been mixing with DAWS. I'm new to Reason but have made some beats. The problem is my mastering. When the mix is complete my final song's volume is so low that it is around 60% of what any MP3 I have on my desktop is. This is probably an easy fix, but it could be many a issue. Can anyone give me general advice and/or specific advice on Reason for creating LOUD beats without levels clipping or me lowering them to non-existence? Thanks much. L

Last edited:
Raise volume in daw regardless of what meter says lol.[Not too loud of course but don't let the meter dictate what you do to a certain degree]
24/32bitdepth can do this better than 16 bit.

Instrument/effect modules have volume knobs, master thing at the top has the master knob to control supralevels etc.
Sometimes I lower stuff down to like -12db, and don't touch the master fader.
Individual levels are affected by the supra/master lever knob and vice versa.

you can still find tips on how to master in Reason when the SSL console from record wasn't integrated. Some can be extracted from these vids:

Together with layering, Haas effect, mid side mastering, fiddling with the volumes and the multiband processing, you can get pretty decent master, that you can boost the loudness of with these different techniques. In the multiband processing bit, you can also find a maximizer, the mclass one.
It was definitely not ideal in those days. I'd say upgrade.

KonKossKang- Instrument/effect modules have volume knobs<-- which knobs are you talking about exactly. How do I get there?
master thing at the top has the master knob to control supralevels etc. Which master knob and what are supralevels? Pardon my uneducation.