Logic Pro X vs FL Studio ON AN IMAC - opinions please!

alancheeky

Hi everyone,

I know this question has been asked loads of times on various forums, but they were out of date or not quite the answer I'm looking for....

I've been using Cubase 4 for a couple of years, but I'm getting fed up with it crashing, and want a change of DAW. My friend is an accomplished producer with FL Studio, who has been showing me it, and I love it. The problem is I haven't got the money to buy a PC (and I can't sell my iMac), so its either:

FL STUDIO 11
+ have tried it and love it
- would have to deal with the hassle of bootcamp (wouldn't get parallels), cost £100 more

LOGIC PRO X
+ no hassle to use,
- can’t demo before buying

My question is...what is it like dealing with the hassle of having FL on bootcamp, having to switch your computer on and off again everytime you want to use something else? I'm a bit worried also about the virus vulnerability that windows has compared to iOS.

Has anyone had any experience with this, and thought the bootcamp hassle just isn't worth it and gone to Logic instead?

Thanks.

I'm not sure how these daw's compare, but I will tell you that you shouldn't base your decision based on the vulnerability of windows to virus's. I've only used windows my entire life, and I have no issues with virus's even while not running an antivirus. If you avoid sketchy websites and be careful where you choose to download from, you shouldn't really have an issue.

I had the same exact problem. Only have a Mac but i loved FL studio. Hated switching back and forth with bootcamp so I decided to stick to Logic full time. If your only problem is crashing and stability I would just go ahead and get Logic because ive never had any problems.

Look into VMWare fusion.