Is Fl Studio better than Pro Tools 10?

Hitman8429

Hitman
I've been using fruity loops for almost 5 years now and I love it. The thing is, I am going to Full Sail now and they require you to use Pro Tools. I was wondering if one is better than the other/ if I'm going to have problems transitioning. Any response and opinion is encouraged. Please let me know what you think!

I don't think that either DAW is overall better than the other. However, I know what you mean. That first learning curve when transitioning from one DAW to another can be a little annoying, but you'll figure it out. I recently (just last night) made the transition from FL to Ableton. I'm still having a little trouble adapting, but its coming along. :)

The biggest thing is understanding where everthing is in the DAW.

Depends on who you ask. I'd say FL is "arguably" as good/better than Pro Tools and vice versa. That's saying alot for a program(FL) that not too long ago was considered a joke by the majority of the music world. Now...only by an extremely small minority.

Thanks for your responses guys, I'm nervous about switching just because I've come to know FL Studio so well. I just have a hunch that pro tools will not be anywhere near as user friendly as FL. Guess I'll find out when it comes in the mail!

Pro Tools and FL Studio are two totally different beasts... if you just make beats, FL Studio is the way to go, but if you plan on being a professional and having clients come to your studio, you pretty much have to have Pro Tools, Nuendo or something of the sort; or they wont take you seriously... Its sad but if you dont use Pro Tools you are immediately looked at as being an amateur, when in reality Pro Tools isn't all that good at any one thing, but it does so many things decently that it became the standard in the industry...