FL 12 vs Cubase

STEFKEF

So it's time for me to get a new laptop and I've heard Macs are really good for production, plus I've always wanted one. Only problem is that I've been teaching myself FL Studio for the past 6 months (give or take) and have just recently seen an increase in my workflow. It finally feels like I'm starting to get the hang of it. However, as many of you probably know, FL Studio doesn't really work on Mac books. So, I looked at alternative DAWs I could use and Cubase is the one that has caught my eye.

So my question is:

Should I get a Mac and switch to Cubase, basically starting over with teaching myself a new program, or should I get a laptop that runs windows and stick with FL? (side note: I rarely ever use the step sequencer)

And if anyone has switched from another DAW to Cubase (or just switching DAWs in general), how long did it take to get your workflow going again? Was it worth it?

Last edited:
Forget about Cubase and get Studio One 3
Studio One is still playing catch up to Cubase which had a huge head start, I mean Cubase had it's comprehensive MIDI implementation sorted out way back when it was still on the Atari, Cubase established the layout of the modern DAW introduced ReWire and VST and had a strong emphasis on native processing and these are just some of the things the newer DAW developers have had to catch up on and many of them have cut corners to do so, this is why some modern DAWs can't handle SysEx or are missing basic stuff like a drum editor which allows users to change the input output routing of notes triggered by their MIDI controller and load up custom drum maps for example.

I don't see how anyone could not choose Cubase except for personal taste. It IS the Pioneer & leader in DAW innovation. You can't really go wrong and it gives you so much to get the job done. All the rest are catch-up's!

Do not joke about a daw having wait for midi, when I read that I went straight towards you lol