* VSTi's and Cubase SX *

[/\][5[)0/\/\

Howdy,

I'm having a really aggrevating issue w/Cubase SX and some of my VSTi's.

Im most likely at fault since I'm new to audio suites. I primarily use Reason 2.0, and ACID Pro 4.0

Here's the problem

I dont think I know how to access VSTi's correctly in Cubase.
I'm using a UC-16, and an OX8 as primary midi devices. I open a 16 Track Midi Sequence, hit F11- select INstrument (FM7 usually) and then I click the little E to activate it, and then I select the VI as the OUT and leave the IN as either Midi Yoke or my Ox8. SOMETIMES it works. I can hear the playback and it recieves the midi messages. However 99.9 % of the time I cannot hear any playback, but the midi messages are still recorded. Now, when I switch to the SW Live Synth, I have no problems w/playback.

The problem is really nerve racking. I have read the manual, got a book from the library, and even read tutorials on the net. Is there anything im doing wrong? At first I thought it was becuase I would use Reason, and then hop into Cubase. I dont know eaxactly. The worst thing about it that I probally wont be able to get a refund on the software since I registered it, and installed it.

Please help...

Yes. Usually FM7.

(FM7 works fine as a standalone)

Any thoughts on what Im doing wrong?

Im beginning to think it's an input/output problem on my part.

I was just now able to hear a VST when I use my mouse and click on the keyboard but my midi controller wasn't working.

I set the

Output to: Jungalist
Input to: In USB (Oxygen 8)

No midi commands were being shown, but I did recieve playback output when using the mouse to click the keyboard.

Can anyone help?

Perhaps a tutorial on midi/vst setup?

Last edited by a moderator:
Make sure you've got record enabled on the track you're trying to play. Not the global record, the record for the individual track.