Thinking of Switching from FL

Reddux

Hello,

First post here, but anyway, I have been using fl studio for five months now and I am relatively happy with it but I was thinking of getting Cubase or Studio One. Now the only issues I have with Fl is that I notice when my tracks start getting more complex, I feel like I get lost in the interface. Everything moves so quickly that I end up having no clue where everything is. The things that annoys me most is first the pattern playlist. I don't like how it works, because I'm so unorganized that I'll throw pattern 1, an automation clip and an audio clip within one "bracket" or pattern in the playlist. Second I have some issues with the mixer. If i have multiple sylenth's for example sometimes I will link a sidechain to the wrong one etc. I just the find the interface sort of compact, which can be good but now that I'm adding more layers and taking more time on my pieces that everything gets muddled. Especially if I take a break on a song and a week later I pick it back up I tend to have some issues getting back into it, because I get lost.

So basically what I'm asking is do you think these problems justify spending $200 on another DAW?

Thanks in advance.

You've already admitted you're unorganized, so there's a solution to some of your troubles. you have to get into the habit of renaming and coloring your sounds and Vst's in the step sequencer, it will make it a whooooooleee lot easier to manage, instead of leaving it as SYLENTH and SYLENTH#2 etc etc, rename it to the instrument or sound you are using in the VST so you know exatly what it is, do this before you send to mixer to avoid double work. Stay Frosty

You see, you're blaming FL for something that YOU are doing wrong. As said before, you need to keep things organized, name the vsts you use, give them colors, the same applies to the mixer channel to where they are assigned.