Software and Hardware

L

lilbigblue

I don't want this thread to turn into a flaming session over what's better, software or hardware. I was just wondering what people would suggest for software and hardware sequencers:

I've heard that Reason 2.0 is pretty darn good as far as software sequencers are concerned.

I have also been told that a good cost efficient hardware sequencer would be a Yamaha RM1X.

What would you all suggest? I'm a complete newbie and on a relatively tight budget. Any suggestions, reviews and opinions would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

-Ray

I think your best bet is to look at your needs. Arguing over whether hardware sequencers are better than software sequencers or not is a waste of time. They both have their advantages and disadvantages. To furthur confuse the issue, some sequencers have other functions built in, so it's very important to assess your needs or what you want to do first, and then decide on what will best acheive your goals.

Some questions to ask yourself are:
What type of music do you want to make? You don't have to get picky, since there's not much difference what you need if you either want to make melodic trance or hard trance. But it does make a difference if you plan on using a lot of recorded tracks (vocals, guitars, etc), or stuff like that.

Are you looking for something primarily for composing in the studio, or jamming on stage? Most sequencers can be used for both, though there are definate advantages to using hardware on stage (no crashes, no computer to lug around, no latency, easier to turn knobs than move mouse), just as there are advantages to using a software sequencer in the studio (easier to upgrade, typically more power, easier editing, plugins, etc).